Home > California Common > Deeside LAF

Deeside LAF

Rating: 2.95

This one is the final beer from my recent haul from Aldi as part of the Scottish beer festival, I never picked up anywhere near as many beers this time round as I did last year because to be honest the selection wasn’t anywhere near as good but this was one of the first I did put in my basket and hopefully it is a good one to finish with. I was attracted to the beer from the Deeside brewery since it was labelled as a California Common and it’s not everyday you see a new one of these, particularly one that is brewed in Scotland. The beer will be my first from the Deeside brewery and I have to admit that it’s a brewery that I had never even heard of despite the fact they are ten years old now, I’ll just have to assume that they are more well-known further north of the country.

Deeside LAF

Appearance (3/5): Quite a light golden colour that’s also very clear with a thin white head that just about covers the surface and seems to hold at that for longer than I’d expected.
Aroma (6/10): This one starts slightly floral on the nose but with some sweetness and butter also coming through early on and giving the beer quite an unusual aroma upfront. The middle is mainly some sweet malts and a touch of caramel with hints of toffee bitterness too but this one definitely doesn’t seem like a California common to me if I’m honest about it; it’s not a bad smell but it’s not quite what I was expecting either.
Taste (6/10): Quite a bitter like beer with a taste that mainly consisted of roasted malts, some sweet flavours with caramel and toffee in there too. The beer has some slightly fruity flavours coming through but these seem to take a back seat to the malts; like the smell, it’s not a bad tasting beer but at the same time it seemed quite ordinary as well.
Palate (3/5): This one was fairly average on the palate with a light-medium body and a fairly sweet palate that came through on top of moderate carbonation levels and a touch of bitterness towards the end of the beer.

Overall (11/20): This one was pretty much as I’ve come to expect from most beers I usually pick up at Aldi supermarket, average in almost every way and definitely not a memorable beer that I’d be likely to pick up again. There was some nice sweetness dotted about the place and an okay malt base but sadly nothing stood out for me with this one and it’s definitely not one to seek out I’m afraid.

Brewed In:  Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Brewery: Deeside Brewery
First Brewed: circa. 2011
Type: California Common
Abv: 4.1%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Aldi (Cardonald)
Price: £1.59

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

