Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Longhorn IPA

Longhorn IPA

Rating: 3.3

Time for what will be only my second beer from Purity and follows on from their Pure UBU that I reviewed here back in October 2012. I found this particular offering, their Longhorn IPA, available in cans on my recent visit to Paty & Bun on James Street, London. The main purpose for my visit was to sample the Ari Gold cheeseburger, regularly rated as one of London’s best burgers but I was happy to try a new beer while I was there as well. Despite seeing the brewery’s Pure UBU fairly regularly in supermarkets around Scotland, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen this or any other Purity beer so I opted for this one rather than Red Stripe and I believe I made the right choice.

Longhorn IPA

Appearance (3/5): Copper amber in colour with a patchy surface lacing that’s white and very slightly foamy.
Aroma (6/10): Subtle pine and floral hops kick this one-off with some touches of grapefruit as well but it’s not an in-your-face aroma by any means. I got some faint sweetness from the malts as well towards the end and the balance seemed good.
Taste (6/10): Floral and pine hop again start things, there is some caramel to give a little sweetness as well before some citrus makes an appearance. It’s slightly more bitter than the nose was with some grapefruit and faint tropical fruits coming through as well.
Palate (4/5): Smooth with a medium body and quite a bitter feel, the beer had a good balance and went down relatively easily. Carbonation levels were about medium and the finish was a dry on as expected.

Overall (14/20): This one was a decent enough effort from Purity, an enjoyable beer with some nice pine and floral hops coming through but there wasn’t really much else beyond that. I quite liked the beer at the time and it was an easy one to drink but I’m not convinced it’s one I’d be tempted to pick up again.

Brewed In: Alcester, Warwickshire, England
Brewery: Purity Brewing
First Brewed: 2013
Type: American IPA
Abv: 4.0%
Serving: Can (330ml)
Purchased: Patty & Bun, Marylebone, London
Price: £4.75

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

