Home > Pale Lager > Name Tag Classic Lager

Name Tag Classic Lager

Rating: 1.35

This one is a beer that I tried a couple of weeks ago before going on holiday after my parents had a couple of cans leftover that they’d brought back from a visit to the US East Coast and never got round to trying. I would normally avoid any beer that looked as bad as this one sitting in the can but it was a new beer and I didn’t fancy going for a Budweiser either. The beer is brewed by Minhas Craft Brewery which surely can’t be a genuine craft brewery if this can is anything to go by. The beer is actually an all-malt offering which surprised me as I had this one pegged as another adjunct lager, anyway here’s what I thought when I tried it.

Name Tag Classic Lager

Appearance (1/5): Clear, light straw and a few large, single bubbles rising to the surface. There was absolutely no head to this one and it looked terrible really.
Aroma (3/10): Really skunky and off-putting with what seemed like lots of corn and various other adjuncts but was probably just really cheap malts.  There was hints of sweetness towards the end but again a terrible beer up to this point.
Taste (2/10): Sticky sweet to start with some skunk flavouring and a faint bitterness but in truth the beer was ridiculously plain and bland with lots of cheap malts and adjuncts (although none were used to the brewing process so who knows what I was actually smelling). Cheap and basic quite a watery taste and no positives for me.
Palate (2/5): Light and thin bodied with a very bland feel and lots of watery patches, there was some faint bitterness but beyond that I didn’t really get much of anything. Carbonation levels were also faint and there was a sticky, semi-sweet feel to the finish.

Overall (5/20): This one was a disgustingly cheap and nasty beer that seemed to have a lot of adjuncts coming through as well as skunky off-flavours that reminded me of everything I usually hate about mass produced pale lagers. The only plus at the time was my thinking that it was my first beer from Wisconsin until I realised I’d already tried a few from there in the past.

Brewed In: Monroe, Wisconsin, United States of America
Brewery: Minhas Craft Brewery
First Brewed: 2009
Also Known As: Red Oval Classic Lager
Type: Pale Lager
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Can (355ml)
Purchased: Washington DC, United States of America
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

