Home > Pale Lager, Premium Lager > Pan Tamni

Pan Tamni

Rating: 3.45

Another new Croatian beer from my recent trip to the country earlier this month, this one is a beer from Carlsberg and my third Pan branded beer. It follows on from the bottle of Pan Zlatni that I reviewed here a couple of years ago after trying it on my first trip to Croatia in 2012. The other beer of theirs I’ve tried is a bottle of Pan Lager on the same trip but this was my first time spotting the dark version of the beer so I thought I better give it a try too. From what I can tell, this one was only introduced around the time of my first visit to Croatia so that might explain why I never got the chance to try it before now but it was one I was looking forward to trying given dark beers seem to be a little better than most of the Croatian pale lagers I’ve picked up thus far.

Pan Tamni

Appearance (4/5): Dark brown and murky looking with a cloudy body and a thin, half centimetre head that is foamy and slightly patchy, sitting a light, creamy white on the surface of the beer.
Aroma (6/10): Dark malts and quite a nutty taste to begin with, there was some earthy notes and touches of caramel before some sugars appeared but it wasn’t an overly sweet beer. I got a few subtle hops coming through and faint coffee in the background but these were minimal.
Taste (6/10): Nutty malts and some sugars along with a taste of caramel kick things off here, there is a subtle taste of hops as well and a basic lager malts taste on top of that. I detected faint skunky flavours and a touch of bitterness before some toffee and a few faint background fruits seen things out.
Palate (4/5): Smooth with a medium body, some sweetness from the caramel and sugars and a fairly easy-going balance. There was moderate carbonation and a crisp, semi-dry finish as well.

Overall (13/20): This on was an okay dark lager, I’d rate it as an improvement on the Pan Zlatni that I first tried a couple of years ago but it’s by no means a classic beer. Easy to drink without coming through as thin or weak, the beer was enjoyable with a nice balance and is one I wouldn’t be against picking up again if I was ever back in Croatia.

Brewed In: Koprivnica, Croatia
Brewery: Carlsberg Croatia
First Brewed: circa. 2012
Type: Dark Lager (Dunkel/Tmavý)
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: The Loft, Zagreb, Croatia
Price: 18 kuna (approx. £1.74)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

