Home > Pale Lager > Nikšićko Pivo

Nikšićko Pivo

Rating: 2.1

Now for what will be my first ever review of a beer from Montenegro, finally a new country to add to my list! This one is a beer from the Trebjesa brewery that’s located in the town of Nikšić that this beer takes its name from. The beer is one that I spotted on quite a few occasions while in Croatia despite the fact that I never once noticed it that last time I visited the country, this could perhaps be down to the fact that since then the brewery has been taken over by Molson Coors and increased their regional market share. I ended up trying the beer on two separate occasions whilst on my travels and for the life of me I can’t remember why I decided to give it a second chance, here’s what I thought of it the first time round; it’s just a shame I couldn’t find the Tamno version of the beer from the same brewery since that one features in the 1001 beers list, there’s always next time though I guess.

Niksicko Pivo

Appearance (1/5): This one was a terrible looking beer, pouring a very light and really clear looking straw colour and showing more than a few large bubbles rising to the surface as well. There was some smaller, finer bubbles in the body as well and the head started about a quarter centimetre tall after I poured the beer before disappearing completely a mere fifteen seconds later.
Aroma (3/10): The beer starts with some faint grassy hops and a citrus backing but the overriding aroma seems to be a skunky one with some vegetable adjuncts on top of that. There’s a lot of corn coming through a slight touches of grain as well as some bread malts and dough but it’s not an enjoyable aroma at all.
Taste (5/10): This one was a really simple tasting pale lager with some corn and basic adjuncts early on alongside what appeared to be some faint grassy hops. There was again some skunk coming through with touches of bitterness and a very faint floral/citrus taste but the skunky flavours and bitterness came through strongest. Definitely not a good tasting beer but it was an improvement on the nose at least.
Palate (3/5): Quite a smooth beer with a fairly crisp feel to it and a clean taste as well. The body was quite a light one that came through with medium carbonation and some dry patches towards the end. It was easy enough to drink but I felt this was down to the fact it was quite light bodied and it certainly didn’t strike me as a refreshing beer.

Overall (10/20): This one got off to an absolutely terrible start with it looking awful in the glass and not smelling much better either, thankfully things improved ever so slightly when I actually tasted the beer but it still wasn’t a good offering. The beer was overly light and basic with too much skunk and not enough flavour, it was however drinkable if not enjoyable and I’ve certainly had worse lagers.

Brewed In: Nikšić, Montenegro
Brewery: Trebjesa Brewery
First Brewed: Brewery since 1896
Type: Pale Lager
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Billa (Zagreb)
Price: 6.99 kuna (approx. £0.68)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 28, 2015 at 11:56

Leave a Reply

