Home > American Porter, Porter > Zmajska Porter

Zmajska Porter

Rating: 3.8

This one is yet another local beer that I managed to sample while I was in Zagreb early last month, the beer is one that I was particularly looking forward to trying prior to my visit as I’d read a bit about the brewery online. I actually managed to try some on draft on my first night in the city but never gave it a proper review then, although it was one that I enjoyed a great deal. When I then spotted a bottle of the stuff in a Spar supermarket round the corner from my hotel in the city I knew I’d have to pick it up and give it a proper review. Seemingly launched in 2014, the beer is one of only a few Croatian ‘craft’ beers that I managed to try on my travels, although I did have more luck in Slovenia with some reviews from there to follow.

Zmajska Porter

Appearance (4/5): Quite a dark, caramel looking brown colour with a creamy, tan brown head that starts about half a centimetre tall before halving in size and just about covering the surface of the beer.
Aroma (7/10): Dark chocolate malts and a lighter sweetness start things off but there is also some burnt sugars and faint vanilla coming through early on. Some background fruits and lactose begin to appear around the middle with a milky coffee aroma after that and there is some light bitterness right at the end.
Taste (7/10): Starting off with a nice roasted malt base, this one is strong on the caramel and there is a nice sweetness of the back of that with a little brown sugar and some of the vanilla from the nose. Some darker fruits and a touch of chocolate plus the lactose and milky notes from the nose start to come through towards the end as well.
Palate (4/5): Smooth, almost silky in texture with some nice sweetness running through the beer from the start. There was a good balance throughout with some faint bitterness in there too, particularly towards the end but overall it was excellent. Carbonation wise the beer was light-medium  and there was a lingering sweetness and a few subtle grains in what was a semi-dry finish.

Overall (16/20): This one was a really nice porter & probably one of the nicest Croatian beers I’ve managed to try thus far, the beer was very tasty with a good balance that went down smooth & easily. There were some nice dark malts & a good amount of sweetness throughout but it also had a subtle kick to it at the end; hopefully this one appears in the UK at some point in the near future as it’s one I wouldn’t mind trying again.

Brewed In: Zagreb, Croatia
Brewery: Zmajska Pivovara
First Brewed: 2014
Full Name: Zmajska Pivovara Porter
Type: American Porter
Abv: 6.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Spar (Zagreb)
Price: 10.99 kuna (approx. £1.07)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 10, 2015 at 13:10

Leave a Reply

