Home > Imperial Pils, Pale Lager > Union Triglav

Union Triglav

Rating: 2.35

A review of another Slovenian beer that I tried whilst in Slovenia, a very local beer from the Union brewery based in Ljubljana where I grabbed the beer in Spar supermarket before sampling it back at my hotel later that night. I wasn’t exactly sure what the beer was when I grabbed it but I was intrigued by the 9% abv. until I realised it was an imperial pils and my excitement faded fast. The beer is my fourth from the Union brewery but amazingly it was my first ‘non-radler’ beer from them and I guess it wasn’t the best way introduce myself to their other beers but luckily I managed to try a few more from them after this, with reviews to follow.

Union Triglav

Appearance (3/5): Crystal clear with a medium amber body and a half centimetre tall, bubbly white head that holds a lot better than I’d have expected for the style and strength of the beer with little movement over the opening few minutes.
Aroma (5/10): This one was really sweet initially with some caramel and toffee upfront before some fairly strong alcohol notes and a lot of sugar made itself known. I got some basic lager malts and the odd bit of fruit but these were both quiet faint, particularly the fruits; the caramel sweetness and alcohol definitely dominate here.
Taste (4/10): Following on well from the nose, this one starts with some really sweet flavours and a huge amount of caramel which seemed overdone to me. There was definitely more alcohol showing than I’d have liked with some earthy malts and faint grassy flavours doing their best to even things out but failing to do so. Again there was a lot of sugars in there and some ripe fruits but it was just far too sweet to enjoy.
Palate (2/5): Overly sweet, almost sickeningly so with a huge amount of alcohol and quite a warm, boozy feel. The body was thin with not much else going on bar a faint bitterness and average carbonation.

Overall (9/20): A really basic, cheap tasting imperial pils that I wish I’d avoided in all honesty. This one was a poor excuse for a beer, coming through far too sweet and packed with tonnes of alcohol. It wasn’t quite up there with the worst lagers I’ve tried but it definitely got sickening towards the end and isn’t one I’ll be picking up again.

Brewed In: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Brewery: Pivovarna Union
First Brewed: 2014
Type: Strong Pale Lager/Imperial Pils
Abv: 9.0%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Spar supermarket (Ljubljana)
Price: €1.43 (approx. £1.04)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 15, 2015 at 08:39

Leave a Reply

