Home > Fruit Beer > Birra Moretti Alla Siciliana

Birra Moretti Alla Siciliana

Rating: 3.5

The first review of a beer that I tried in Venice now, I had this Birra Moretti offering on my second day in the city and it was also my second from the brewery, I originally reviewed their flagship offering a couple of years ago and to be honest it’s one that I’ve tried to avoid since then. This particular beer, Siciliana, is a new offering for 2015 from the Italian brewery and is one that I sampled in a Venetian restaurant after picking it from another couple similar beers from the brewery they had on offer. The beer itself was a fruit beer which isn’t usually a style that I hold out much hope for but as it turned out the beer wasn’t all that bad, granted the price was quite steep but I was expecting as much from Venice so I won’t hold that against it.

Birra Moretti Siciliana

Appearance (3/5): Light amber with a clear body and a thin, patchy white lacing on top with the odd bubble rising to the surface.
Aroma (7/10): Citrus and light floral notes to start, there was some lemon zest and faint pine showing as well. The beer wasn’t the most pronounced on the nose but I got some touches of malts and a summery, fresh aroma that featured some grassy hops and hay towards the end.
Taste (7/10): Strong citrus and lemon notes kicked things off with some grapefruit and to a lesser extent some pine hops. There was again a freshness to the beer with some lager style malts around the middle and orange flavours at the end but not much sweetness.
Palate (4/5): There was a good balance to this beer with some nice bitterness from the citrus working well with the light malts and the beer definitely had quite a fresh, lively feel to it. Carbonation levels were quite strong with the beer quite dry towards the end and the body was a light-medium one.

Overall (14/20): This one was definitely a beer that went down a lot better than I expected it to and I certainly enjoyed it more than the same brewery’s flagship pale lager so I’m quite happy I ordered it in the end. There was a nice, refreshing taste to the beer and it went down easy in the Italian sun with a pleasant balance and it went well with my dinner so I’ve no complaints.

Brewed In: Bergamo, Italy
Brewery: Birra Moretti (Heineken)
First Brewed: 2015
Type: Fruit Beer
Abv: 5.8%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Trattoria Lanternine, Venice, Italy
Price: €7.00 (approx. £5.13)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 9, 2015 at 08:26

Leave a Reply

