Home > Various > Birra Antoniana Altinate

Birra Antoniana Altinate

Rating: 3.3

Time now for what will be the eleventh Italian beer I will have reviewed here and as predicted my trip to Venice back in August has helped me to get the numbers up. This one is actually the first Birrificio Antoniano offering I will have reviewed though after I spotted it on-tap at the Devil’s Forest pub located on a Venice backstreet on my second night in the city.The beer itself is a relatively new one, having been first introduced in later 2013 and naturally it isn’t one that I’ve seen or am likely to find anytime soon in the UK so I’m happy I was able to try it when I did. The reason I opted for this particular offering (despite it being a pale lager) was firstly because it was a new ‘local’ beer on-tap in Venice but secondly because I vaguely thought I recognised the brewery name; I was probably thinking of another brewery in truth but at least it counts as a new Italian beer for me.

Birra Antoniana Altinate

Appearance (3/5): Light copper amber in colour with a clear body and topped with a very thin, patchy white lacing on top that at least remains consistent throughout.
Aroma (6/10): The nose consists of some light citrus and pale malts followed by some touches of lemon and a combination of pine and floral hops. There wasn’t anything overly pronounced about the beer but I got some elderflower and faint grassy hops coming through towards the end.
Taste (7/10): Pale malts and faint caramel kick things off with the taste, there was an overridding citrus flavour as well though along with the floral and pine hops from the nose. I could detect a slightly bread-like taste with some hay and grassy hops not too far behind. The beer seemed quite fresh but at the same time it wasn’t markedly different from most other pale lagers other than being slightly more floral. There was some citrus and a few herbal flavours towards the end through and the beer was quite easy to drink.
Palate (4/5): This one was a medium bodied beer that came through as quite dry with a slight citrus tang and moderate carbonation. There was a good balance to the beer and it proved quite easy to drink with a smooth, refreshing feel and a moderately bitter finish.

Overall (14/20): This one was quite a refreshing beer to drink and one that came through with quite a lot of citrus but still proved easy-going down without being anything special. There was some nice malts coming through and the balance seemed good although nothing seemed to grab my attention or really make me want to try the beer again; enjoyable but definitely not great.

Brewed In: Villafranca Padovana, Veneto, Italy
Brewery: Birrificio Antoniano
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Pale Lager
Abv: 5.2%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: Devil’s Forest Pub, Venice, Italy
Price: €7.00 (approx. £5.13)

Categories: Various Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

