Home > Vienna Lager > San Servolo Premium Crveno Pivo

San Servolo Premium Crveno Pivo

Rating: 2.95

The second of three San Servolo beers from the Bujska brewery that I plan to review here now, this one being the Vienna lager of the set and one that follows on from their flagship Czech pilsner that I reviewed here and quite enjoyed previously. Again this is another from the Istrian based brewery that I tried back in August on my last few days in Croatia, while I was based in the seaside town of Rovinj. After trying the main beer from the brewery and liking it I knew this was one that I’d have to look out for and try before heading back home so I made a second visit to the Mediterraneo Bar on the rocks above the beach in Rovinj to try this second San Servolo offering in as many days since it was the only place I’d seen this variety of the beer available; here;s what I thought of this one anyway.

San Servolo Premium Crveno Pivo

Appearance (4/5): Caramel amber with the odd red tinge coming through, this one had a cloudy body and was topped with a centimetre and a half tall head that was foamy white and settled to about half its original size after roughly one minute.
Aroma (5/10): The nose of this one was quite light in truth, there was some light caramel and a few pale malts to start things off before some sweetness from various sugars made an appearance. There was a few background fruits in there as well but it was all a little weak on the nose for my liking I’m afraid.
Taste (5/10): Following on in a similar fashion to the nose, this one also tasted quite faint and wasn’t overly pronounced with the pale malts starting things off here too. There was again some light sugars to add a little sweetness and I got some subtle fruits making themselves known together with some grain and faint grassy hops but it seemed quite bland and faded off to nothing towards the end.
Palate (3/5): The beer had a light-medium body and was well carbonated but as I’ve already mentioned, it was also quite a bland and boring beer with touches of bitterness coming through but nothing to grab your attention. It was easy to drink but also unimaginative and not that enjoyable on the way down.

Overall (11/20): This one was a beer that proved to be quite a disappointing effort, particularly when compared the same brewery’s Czech pilsner that I reviewed here previously. Despite being drinkable, this one was fairly weak and very bland with not enough strength coming from either the aroma or the taste to be honest. I got some nice pale malts and the odd bit of bitterness early on but things faded fast and left me disappointed; definitely a beer that I was expecting a lot more of.

Brewed In: Buje, Istria, Croatia
Brewery: Bujska Pivovara
First Brewed: 2013
Type: Vienna Lager
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Mediterraneo Bar, Rovinj, Croatia
Price: 37 kuna (approx. £3.58)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 13, 2015 at 08:24

Leave a Reply

