Home > Dark Lager, Dunkel > Laško Dark

Laško Dark

Rating: 3.75

The final beer from those I managed to try over the summer on my visits to Croatia, Slovenia and Italy and a good one to go out with, a dunkel from Slovenian brewer Laško and one that I only stumbled across in a restaurant in Rovinj on the last night of my holiday. The beer is one that I knew existed but I had trouble finding it after being unable to locate a bottle on my brief visit to the Slovenian capital of Ljubljana so I was happy to try it with dinner in Rovinj when the chance presented itself. This one follows on from the first Laško beer I tried back in 2011, their Zlatorog offering I first tried back in 2012 and will likely be the last review of a Slovenian beer I add for quite some time.

Laško Dark

Appearance (4/5): This one pours a dark, chocolate coloured brown with an opaque body and a large, three-centimetre tall head that holds better than I would have expected over the opening couple of minutes before eventually halving in size.
Aroma (7/10): Dark roasted malts and quite a lot of chocolate kick this one-off, there is some sweetness off the back of this though and I could also detect some light grain and some subtle sugars. The beer was quite a dark one with some lactose towards the end and coming through with a nice balance overall.
Taste (7/10): Matching the nose well, the taste kicks off with some dark roasted malts and touches of grain but there is slightly less chocolate coming through than there was with the nose. I managed to get some sugars and there was a nice milky taste around the middle before some caramel and nutty flavours made themselves known nearer the end.
Palate (4/5): A smooth and quite a creamy beer on the palate, coming through with a medium body and a pleasant amount of sweetness from the sugars and chocolate in the taste. There was a good balance throughout and the touches of grain were kept to a minimum with some light bitterness seeing things out.

Overall (15/20): Quite an enjoyable beer from Laško and one I’m very pleased to have tried, there was a very nice dark roasted malt flavour with good sweetness and the odd milky taste coming through that all worked well together. The balance of the beer was a good one and it proved very easy to drink, it’s definitely one I’d order again when in the region.

Brewed In: Laško, Slovenia
Brewery: Pivovarna Laško
First Brewed: Brewery since 1825
Also Known As: Laško Temno
Type: Dunkel
Abv: 5.9%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Moneo, Rovinj, Croatia
Price: 25 kuna (approx. £2.42)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

