Home > Golden Ale/Blond Ale > York Guzzler

York Guzzler

Rating: 3.05

Time for my third beer from the York Brewery now, although I’m actually counting the cask version of this beer as one of the two after having tried it one a trip to York two years ago (almost to the day). This is a bottle that Lidl supermarkets in Scotland have recently started stocking and is one I was given as a birthday gift recently. This one will be the first beer from the York Brewery that I’ve tried as a bottle with the cask version of this as well as their Centurion’s Ghost Ale both being cask offerings when I tried them previously. I quite enjoyed the cask version of Guzzler when I tried it, particularly for a cask ale which in all honesty I’m not that partial to so I’m hopeful that this version of the beer will go down even easier and be one that I can pick up again from Lidl, I’d also be keen to see a couple more beers from the brewery stocked north of the boarder if this one turns out to be as good as I’m hoping for.

York Guzzler

Appearance (3/5): Quite a clear golden colour that was fairly bright with a thin, patchy white head that barely covers half of the surface of the beer and is quite still looking.
Aroma (6/10): Quite sweet on the nose early on with some bread and biscuit notes, there is a few basic malts coming through but it’s not the strongest aroma I’ve come across. There was a slight touch of butter and some background fruits giving the beer a fairly similar nose to that of the cask version.
Taste (6/10): The taste starts off with some light sweetness that didn’t seem quite as strong as the nose, there was some bitterness in there early on though and this was followed by some biscuit malts and earthy hops. There was the background fruits in there as well but again they seemed quite light, with some bread malts a floral taste making itself known as well.
Palate (3/5): Fairly smooth with a nice amount of bitterness coming through with a slight tang to it and light-medium carbonation but it seemed somewhat unsettling on the way down making it more difficult to drink than I’d have liked and some grains did come through as well.

Overall (13/20): This was a slight disappointment if I’m honest, I was expecting it to be a slight step-up from the cask version but in truth it definitely came out worse with it not going down quite as easy as I’d have liked. There was a nice sweetness early on and the biscuit/bread malts were the most pronounced but other than some background fruits there wasn’t a whole lot else going on really. It was certainly a drinkable offering but not quite what I was expecting and I’d sooner go back to the cask version than the bottle which in truth I’ll probably not have again.

Brewed In: York, England
Brewery: York Brewery
First Brewed: circa. 2003 (Brewery since 1996)
Type: Golden/Blond Ale
Abv: 4.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Lidl
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

