Home > Bitter > Hatherwood Golden Goose

Hatherwood Golden Goose

Rating: 3.0

A new beer for me from the Wychwood Brewery now and one that they brew especially for Lidl supermarkets in the UK, this is a bottle I received as a gift recently and will amazingly be the first English bitter that I will have reviewed since I tried a bottle of Yule Love It! from Thwaites brewery at the end of January; and I don’t even recall trying any others between then and now if I’m honest. The style used to be one that I regularly picked up, mainly because bitters are usually easy to find and cheap here but it is a style that I’ve avoided of late. Despite it still being one of the top ten most rated styles for me, I tend to opt for more hoppy offerings than traditional ones these days but I’m hoping this one will take me back and that it is one that I can enjoy since I have another from the same brewery to try after this one.

Hatherwood Golden Goose

Appearance (3/5): This bottle pours quite a light copper colour with a very clear body and is topped with a thin, half centimetre tall head that is white and foamy looking, managing to cover the surface of the beer for the first minute of so before turning patchy.
Aroma (6/10): Slightly boozy on the nose as the beer was being poured, there is an abundance of English style hops with fuggle and golding both present and bring some light sweetness with them. There was a biscuit malt aroma and some bread with a few earthy notes and pale malts present as well without it being a particularly strong one on the nose.
Taste (6/10): Quite similar to the nose with some boozy flavours sneaking through early on despite being quite a light, 3.8% beer. There was some earth hops and a few biscuit flavours before some background caramel sweetness make itself known. I could detect some bread and doughy flavours with touches of pale malts backing it up along with the odd touch of grass; again the flavours weren’t the strongest but they weren’t particularly weak either thankfully.
Palate (3/5): Quite an earthy and, as I’ve mentioned already, boozy beer on the palate with some grains showing and a fair amount of bitterness as well, although that was to be expected given the style of the beer. The beer was a medium bodied one that seemed well carbonated for the style, it was perhaps a little overdone even. There was a nice amount of flavour coming through at least though and the balance seemed good as well.

Overall (12/20): This one wasn’t too bad an effort for what it was, a basic English style bitter that is a style I’ve gone off a lot lately and one  that I hardly ever pick up if I’m honest. There was a nice combination of pale and earthy malts mixed with some English style, traditional hops and touches of sweetness but there wasn’t much to set the beer alight and get me interested. Overall the beer was an easy one to drink, especially given the low alcohol content but there did seem to be boozy elements to it which weren’t great to be honest; drinkable but not one to look out for.

Brewed In: Witney, England
Brewery: Wychwood Brewery
First Brewed: Brewery since 1983
Full Name: Lidl Hatherwood Golden Goose
Type: English Bitter
Abv: 3.8%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Lidl
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 19, 2015 at 08:11

Leave a Reply

