Home > Spice/Herb/Vegetable > Appenzeller Hanfblüte (313 of 1001)

Appenzeller Hanfblüte (313 of 1001)

Rating: 3.4

This one will be my tenth Swiss beer now and the third from the country I’ll have tried that also features on the 1001 beers list, not bad going considering I hadn’t tried any at the start of the month. This one is another beer from the Appenzeller brewery and following on from the bottle of Naturperle I reviewed here previously, this will be my second from the brewery with both listed in the 1001 Beers To Try Before You Die book. Hanfblüte is a beer infused with hemp leaves and blossom, something I was unaware of at the time of drinking this one but if I knew German then I’d have realised the name translates to ‘hemp blossom’ and that might have tipped me off to the fact. As it stood, this one was quite a surprise when I tried it given I’d been expecting a simple, pale lager but it wasn’t a bad surprise thankfully.

Appenzeller Hanfblüte

Appearance (3/5): Pale golden to straw coloured with a hazy body and a two centimetre tall head that is foamy looking and slowly recedes to sit at about half its original size after roughly thirty seconds.
Aroma (6/10): This one was really spicy on the nose with quite a lot of yeast coming through early on and some citrus notes backing it up. There was quite a few herbal touches to the nose with a strong smell of hemp making itself known alongside bursts of coriander and some pepper. The nose was quite an unusual smelling one, specifically the hemp was not at all what I’d been expecting since I knew little about this one before trying it but it was pungent and quite a bit different.
Taste (7/10): As expected given the nose, this one started off very spicy with a tonne of yeast and plenty of hemp flavours coming through in the early going. There was some strong herbal flavours that featured a little pepper and coriander on top of some pale and light malts. I could detect some fresh flavours with some citrus and floral touches in there before a lingering spicy taste see things out.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and very lively with a lot of strong carbonation and plenty of spice on the palate. This one is a very dry and crisp beer with a light-medium body that had the odd hint of bitterness in places and a fairly noticeable tang to proceedings as well; a nice beer at not at all what I was expecting.

Overall (14/20): This beer was a little bit of a strange one really, I grabbed a bottle without knowing anything about it but having tried others from the brewery but nothing prepared me for the taste really with quite a lot of herbal flavours and tonnes of hemp coming through early on. Having been expecting a pale lager when I bought the bottle, this one was a pleasant surprise and not like anything else I’ve tried previously with tonnes off spice and the hemp definitely started to grow on me as I worked my way through this one and settled down some. It’s probably not one I’m very likely to have again but it was certainly something a little different and one well worth giving a go at least once.

Brewed In: Appenzell, Switzerland
Brewery: Locher Appenzeller
First Brewed: 1997
Type: Herbed/Spiced Beer
Abv: 5.2%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Drinks of the World (Basel)
Price: 4.00 CHF (approx. £2.59)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 25, 2015 at 08:51

Leave a Reply

