Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Trois Dames IPA (317 of 1001)

Trois Dames IPA (317 of 1001)

Rating: 3.9

The final Swiss beer of the seven from the 1001 beers list that I managed to try while in Basel recently, this one being the first and only beer from the Trois Dames brewery that I managed to get hold of; although I believe the Drinks of the World shop where I got most of my beers did stock a few more from them, I just didn’t have enough time to pick any up. Founded in 2002, the brewery is highly regarded in Switzerland and this particular beer is one of their ‘special’ offerings, although I believe it is available year round which explains why I was able to find it in the first and only shop I attempted to buy from when in Basel. Since Swiss beers are incredibly hard to find in Scotland, I imagine this one will be the last beer brewed in Switzerland to feature on the 1001 beers list that I am likely to try for quite some time which is a bit of a shame since several of the ones I managed to try proved themselves to be quite nice drinks; with five left to try from the country I’m hoping I either find myself back in Switzerland at some point or they are able to export a couple of the beers to the UK in future but I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Trois Dames IPA

Appearance (4/5): Light caramel amber with a very cloudy body and topped with a thin, foamy white head that sits at just under a centimetre tall with some nice lacing left on the sides of the glass as well.
Aroma (7/10): Pine hops with some citrus ones too and good caramel sweetness kick things off here, there is some sugars and a touch of tropical fruits to back them up as well. The beer wasn’t overly strong on the nose but at the same time it wasn’t weak either, I got some noticeable floral notes and some pale biscuit malts giving the beer a balanced aroma but it could have benefited from being a little bit stronger.
Taste (8/10): Matching the nose well, this one again starts with some nice pine and citrus hops coming through alongside some tropical fruit flavours which seem a little stronger here than they did with the nose. I also got some nice sugars and a caramel sweetness that was backed up with a grapefruit bitterness and some oranges too. The beer definitely came through more bitter than the nose suggested, and stronger too, with some nice spices and a few light malts appearing towards the end as well.
Palate (4/5): This one was a medium bodied beer that came through on top of quite a bitter palate and had some nice sweetness as well thanks to the caramel malts and some background fruits. It was quite a dry offering with good carbonation and a lingering bitter finish that was crisp, smooth and relatively easy to drink as well thanks to the well hidden alcohol content and good balance.

Overall (16/20): This one was a nice change up from most of the other Swiss beers I’ve tried up to this point, the beer was quite a hoppy and American styled IPA that was a welcome change from the lagers and spiced beers that I’d been drinking prior to it. The beer came through with a good mix of pine and citrus hops that were backed up by some nice tropical fruits and caramel malts which imparted some nice sweetness to proceedings. Whilst it wasn’t an overly bitter beer there was some nice hops coming through and the balance was a good one which also helped to hide the alcohol content well; all in all a very nice beer and one of the better Swiss offerings I tried.

Brewed In: Sainte-Croix, Vaud, Switzerland
Brewery: Brasserie Trois Dames
First Brewed: 2005
Type: American IPA
Abv: 6.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Drinks of the World (Basel)
Price: 5.40 CHF (approx. £3.49)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

