Home > American Barleywine, Barleywine > Brewdog B-Side Mango & Habanero Barleywine

Brewdog B-Side Mango & Habanero Barleywine

Rating: 3.45

A fairly unusual offering from Brewdog now, this one is an experimental offering from the brewery that is a new, draught only release for November 2015 from their pilot kit that I don’t imagine will make it as a permanent offering in their bottled beer range so it’s yet another I’m glad I managed to try. I sampled the offering on-tap at Brewdog’s DogHouse in Glasgow recently after the keg of the original beer I attempted to order had just finished, I had been planning to try this one a little later in the evening anyway so my decision wasn’t totally out of left field. This review follows on from the pint of B-Side Milk Stout from Brewdog that is so far the only other beer in the B-Side series from the brewery that I’ve tried but hopefully I’ll get a few chances to try some more going forward since Glasgow now has two Brewdog pubs (and one of them is pretty much in the city centre). The reason I opted for this beer was partly because it was one of the few Brewdog beers on-tap that I hadn’t already tried when I visited the bar, and partly because I was interested to see how a Habanero beer would come out given I’ve not had the change to try Ballast Point’s Habanero Sculpin as of yet and it’s one that I would love to give a go and see what all the fuss is about so this is the next closest alternative.

Brewdog B-Side Mango & Habanero Barleywine

Appearance (4/5): This one sat a bright amber colour in the glass with a thin, bubbly white head on top that sat more around the edge of the glass than anything else and wasn’t too bad considering the alcohol content of this one really.
Aroma (7/10): As expected, there was a tonne of spice to this one with what I’d assume to be Habanero but in truth I’ve not much of a clue as to what a Habanero smells like and don’t really have the nose to differentiate between different types of chilies. There was a fair amount of sweetness coming through as well though and this sat on top of a dry and quite sticky nose with quite a bit of alcohol showing, There was some touches of mango and grapefruit thrown in so the name wasn’t completely redundant but the spice and alcohol seemed to be what dominated; the beer did however still smell better than I’d been expecting thankfully.
Taste (7/10): Much like the nose, this one started quite spicy again and came through with a lot of chillies and alcohol that almost burnt the lips if you let the beer sit in your mouth for too long before swallowing. There was quite a warming sweetness but some mango and to a lesser extent the grapefruit from the nose started to appear and balance things out a little better than they would have been otherwise. I also got some lime towards the end as well but again it was the spice and alcohol that dominated.
Palate (3/5): A light-medium bodied beer with a tonne of spicy from the Habanero as I;d been expecting and quite a warming, boozy feel as well with the beer burning in your mouth after twenty seconds or so. There was touches of sweetness backing things up but they weren’t quite strong enough sadly.

Overall (13/20): Quite an interesting one from Brewdog here, I wasn’t exactly expecting a classic when I ordered this one but was looking to try something a little different and see how it came out. I definitely got something different from this beer, there was a lot of spice and alcohol coming through from the start but it managed to hold its own and never really overpower thanks to some mango and touches of grapefruit making an appearance. While it’s pretty much a beer that you only try once, it did manage to hold its own and easily came out ahead of the other chili beers that I tried in the past, particularly the absolutely disgusting Cave Creek Chili Beer I had a few years ago now; this one is at least interesting and worth a try.

Brewed In: Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Brewery: Brewdog
First Brewed: 2015
Type: American Barleywine
Abv: 10.4%
Serving: Draught (1/3rd Pint)
Purchased: Brewdog DogHouse, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £4.05

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

