Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Evolver IPA (Cask)

Evolver IPA (Cask)

Rating: 3.25

A rare cask offering now and very possibly my first of the style since reviewing a half pint of Silkie Stout back in May of this year, a beer that I quite enjoyed which is even more of a rarity for me as I’m not the biggest fan of this type beer. This one from Wild Beer is an offering I tried at the Drygate brewpub just over a week ago and although it’ll be my first cask offering from them I have tried a few of their beers before so I was looking forward to seeing how a cask version turned out when it was ordered for me in the bar since I probably wouldn’t have ordered it myself; here’s what I thought of it anyway.

Evolver IPA

Appearance (3/5): Quite a bright orange colour with amber touches and a cloudy body that was topped by a white and patchy head that looked slightly foamy.
Aroma (6/10): This one had quite a strong nose with lots of citrus and fresh lemon notes to start things off before some yeasty smells and a lot of funk started to come through. There was a lot of fruit on the nose with it seeming a little overdone in places but it wasn’t a bad-smelling beer and it was certainly more pronounced that I can remember most cask offerings being.
Taste (6/10): This one again kicked off with quite a lot of assertive, strong fruits that were backed up by some citrus and juicy flavours before a few tropical fruits made themselves known. There was some lemon and grapefruit around the middle with a few hops and a touch of pine making an appearance. The beer was enjoyable with more hops than I’d expected from a cask beer and there was some nice sweetness too.
Palate (4/5): Fresh on the palate with a medium body and a lot more carbonation than is usual for a cask beer, it sat around medium and was quite fruity which helped add some touches of sweetness to proceedings. There was some acidity showing and touches of funk but overall the balance wasn’t a bad one.

Overall (13/20): Quite a fruity and fairly well carbonated cask offering that had a lot more to it than I’d come to expect with cask beers over the years which is part of the reason I avoid them for the most part. The beer has some nice citrus and floral flavours coming through on top of a fruity base and touches of funk that were quite enjoyable. While it’s probably not one I’d hunt out again, I would quite like to try the bottled or keg version of this beer and see how that compares.

Brewed In: Shepton Maller, Somerset, England
Brewery: The Wild Beer Co.
First Brewed: 2014
Full Name: The Wild Beer Co. Evolver IPA
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.8%
Serving: Draught (Schooner)
Purchased: Drygate, Glasgow, Scotland
Price: £3.50 (approx.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

