Home > Wheat Ale, Wheat Beer > Fortunate Islands

Fortunate Islands

Rating: 3.2

This one will be my second beer from Modern Times and comes soon after I reviewed their Black House stout towards the end of last month after ordering a can from the Brewdog online shop. At that time I also tried to order a can of this one, their Fortunate Islands wheat ale but by the time I got round to placing my order it had already sold out. Thankfully I was able to find it on the menu at Brewdog’s newly opened DogHouse bar and restaurant in Glasgow when I went for a second visit recently and opted to give it a go since I’d already tried a good portion of the draft beers that day. Brewed with 60% malts, the beer is labelled as a cross between a hoppy IPA and a wheat beer with plenty of tropical fruits and citrus so I was interested to see how that would turn out since I’m more used to trying lager-IPA hybrids and given Modern Times is such a well-regarded brewery I was also hopeful this will be an improvement on their Black House.

Fortunate Islands

Appearance (4/5): Medium amber and quite bright looking with a fairly clear body and a thin white lacing for a head on top that is just shy of being a patchy one but does break up after a minute or so.
Aroma (6/10): This one starts quite weak with some subdued hops coming through alongside some citrus notes and touches of wheat. There was some citrus in there early on but I was expecting more hops to be honest. The middle of the beer came through with some tropical fruits, most notably some pineapple and a hint of mango but neither were particularly strong in truth before some banana seen things out.
Taste (6/10): The taste was kicked off with some nice hops that were thankfully a little more pronounced than the nose but still weren’t particularly strong sadly. There was some citrus and a little pine to begin with before some tropical fruits started to sneak in and a little mango, pineapple and lemon made themselves known. There was again a slightly subdued feel to the beer but it remained a drinkable one at least.
Palate (3/5): Pouring with a light medium body and sitting a lot lighter than expected, this one was a surprisingly bland and quite weak offering that could really have done with a lot more bitterness and flavour. There was quite strong carbonation but everything else seemed a little subdued and bland to be honest, it’s not one I’ll be going back.

Overall (12/20): This one was quite a fresh beer with some nice citrus flavours and the odd tropical fruit in the mix but it was failed by the fact it was so weak and seemed watered down in places, definitely not what I was expecting from such a famous Californian brewery in all honesty. It was my first wheat-IPA hybrid but I’m not all their beers are like this as it’s definitely not one I’d be looking to try again; there just wasn’t enough going on at any point and everything there was seemed weak and watered down. It’s another pretty poor beer from Modern Times I’m afraid, hopefully any future beers I try from them are better but to be honest I can’t imagine I’ll be rushing bad to try any of them again.

Brewed In: San Diego, California, United States of America
Brewery: Modern Times Beer
First Brewed: 2013
Type: American Pale Wheat Ale
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Can (473ml)
Purchased: BrewDog DogHouse (Glasgow)
Price: £4.80

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

