Home > Golden Ale/Blond Ale > Bee’s Endeavour

Bee’s Endeavour

Rating: 3.2

An eighth beer from the Whitewater brewery based in the north of Ireland for me now, this is a brewery that I usually find myself trying something from when I’m in Ireland each year but I’ve yet to see a bottle from them available outside the north of the country so their beers obviously don’t travel too far from home. This one looks to be a re-release of an earlier cask beer from the brewery with reviews going back as far as 2004 but a press release announcing the beer is dated 2013 when it was resurrected for the Irish Craft Beer & Cider Festival so I can only assume that it was first bottled then as well. I spotted the beer in a Tesco supermarket in the country over the Christmas holidays and decided to grab a bottle as it was one of the few in the place I hadn’t already tried, this was despite not being particularly taking by the fact it is a honey and ginger beer; I was just hoping it wouldn’t be too strong and overpowering. The beer will be my first new one from the brewery since trying a bottle of their Hoppelhammer in late June of last year, an excellent beer from the brewery that I find my self going back to every time I see a bottle so I was hoping this one would be more of the same from Whitewater.

Bee's Endeavour

Appearance (4/5): A semi-bright amber in colour with a hazy body and topped with quite a thick looking, thumb-sized head that is a slightly off-white colour; it also holds well with only a tiny bit of height lost over the opening minutes.
Aroma (6/10): Subdued hops and a few grassy notes to start things off, this one has a decent amount of sweetness coming through early on and there is some of the honey mentioned on the label coming through as well. I got a couple of light citrus notes with lemon the most pronounced before some earthy notes and hints of ginger came through towards the end.
Taste (6/10): Earthy malts and some hints of sweetness kick things off here, there was a bit of honey early on and some sugars too before some spice and ginger started to feature. The beer was fresh tasting with some citrus flavours and a few background hops coming through but nothing seemed to stick out for me really.
Palate (3/5): The beer was a smooth and slightly spicy one that came through with a decent balance but this was in part because none of the flavours in the taste done enough to grab my attention. Carbonation levels were quite strong and it was easy enough to drink with some fresh, slightly floral touches and a dry, crisp finish.

Overall (12/20): This was a beer that proved to be quite an average offering from Whitewater, it definitely didn’t show itself to be all that memorable and nothing really stood out for me despite the fact that honey and ginger were both heavily touted on the label. It was an easy enough beer to drink but it failed to match the heights of some of the brewery’s other beers, in particular their Hoppelhammer that I tried last from them and it’s probably not one I’ll be picking up again.

Brewed In: Saintfield, County Down, Northern Ireland
Brewery: Whitewater Brewing Co.
First Brewed: Brewery since 1996
Type: Golden/Blond Ale
Abv: 4.8%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: Tesco (Northern Ireland)
Price: £1.67

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

