Home > American Pale Ale > Emelisse American Pale Ale

Emelisse American Pale Ale

Rating: 2.55

A second Emelisse beer now, this one carries on from the bottle of their White Label Imperial Russian Stout Rum(BA) that I managed to try whilst in Amsterdam for Easter last year. This particular bottle is one that I received as a Christmas gift, coming as part of a box of beers ordered via Beer52.com and it’s one that is labelled as an American pale ale but one that I suppose could be described as a session pale ale given it comes in at 3.5%. I particularly enjoyed the imperial stout from the brewery that I managed to try in the Netherlands and I’ve been looking for more from the brewery since then but until been given this one, I hadn’t really had much luck locating any of their beers. I’m never overly confident that any session beers I manage to get hold of will be good ones, I’ve been unlucky to try a few poor beers that could be considered session offerings but I was quite looking forward to this one before I opened it; here’s what I thought from trying it over the holidays.
Emelisse American Pale Ale

Appearance (4/5): Medium amber and quite clear, this one is topped with a thumb-sized head that is white and foamy looking with a touch of lacing left on the sides of the glass. There is some bubbles running through the body of the beer and the head retention is quite good with the beer very slowly halving in size and settling as a thick lacing with some of that remains stuck to the sides of the glass as well.
Aroma (4/10): The nose was kicked off with some subtle hops and a light pine aroma, backed up with a little citrus but in truth the beer seemed weak and slightly watered down really. There was a bit of malt coming through alongside basic grassy hops but there wasn’t really anything else following on behind; I can only hope it tastes better.
Taste (5/10): Slightly hoppy to start, this one was at least a touch more pronounced than the nose but still wasn’t as strong as I’d have liked or expected, even for a session beer. There was a few earthy malts coming through but it certainly wasn’t as sweet as I’d have liked either, I did get some citrus and lemon flavours around the middle at least and a floral bitterness followed that. The odd touch of hops appeared towards the end but it was again quite a disappointing beer with a bland taste that I didn’t enjoy at all.
Palate (2/5): Starting with some light bitterness, the beer was dry feeling thanks to the citrus and it came through with a light or light-medium body without seeming overly thin. The beer was definitely a bland and quite watery one with little in the way of bitterness and flavour really. It was easy enough to drink but that was of little consequence given it was mainly due to the fact the beer was so light and weak.

Overall (9/20): This one was a really poor beer and almost a polar opposite of the last beer from the brewery I tried; their White Label Imperial Stout Rum(BA) which was strong and flavoursome with lots of complexity too. This one seemed weak, bland and watered down with a light body and very little in the way of flavour. Terrible stuff really and I can only hope that my next beer from the brewery is a lot better than this one proved to be.

Brewed In: Kamperland, Zeeland, Netherlands
Brewery: Bierbrouwerij Grand-Café Emelisse
First Brewed: 2015
Type: American Pale Ale
Abv: 3.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Beer52.com
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

