Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Boulevard Single-Wide I.P.A.

Boulevard Single-Wide I.P.A.

Rating: 4.2

Another beer from over the Christmas holidays, this one is a beer that I mistakenly assumed would be my first beer from Kansas state after seeing the name on the bottle as I opened it only to later find out that the beer is brewed in Kansas City, in the Missouri part of the city and as such will count as my third beer from that state instead. The beer follows on from the bottles of Budweiser and Budweiser 66 that I have previously tried from Missouri and will at least be my first craft beer from the state as well as my first decent beer from there since I wasn’t a fan of either Anheuser Busch offering. This one is a year-round offering from Boulevard’s core range and is one that I acquired as part of a gift ordered from Beer52, it was probably the one from the ten that I received that I was most looking forward to trying as well. The reason for that was mainly because I’d never seen any of the brewery’s beers prior to this one but partially because I thought I’d be trying a beer from a new state, sadly not so I’ll just have to keep my eyes peeled for a beer from Kansas state from now on I guess.

Boulevard Single Wide IPA

Appearance (5/5): A bright amber colour witha  semi-clear body and a large, one and a half-inch head on top that is a white, foamy and thick looking one. Head retention is pretty good too, there is little movement over the opening couple of minutes before it eventually subsides to finish about half its original height with plenty of lacing left on the sides of the glass too.
Aroma (8/10): The nose starts with floral hops and pine that both seemed quite fresh without being in your face, there was some nice citrus notes as well before the beer took a sweet turn thanks to some caramel malts around the middle. There was a good balance on the nose with some dried and tropical fruits coming through and there was hints of bitterness in the finish too.
Taste (8/10): The taste matched the nose well with this one and the beer started with some fresh hops and tropical fruits, there was a nice combination of peach and apricot coming through with some mangos, oranges and lemons not far behind. I got a nice floral bitterness towards the middle of the beer and a few herbal flavours featured as well before the sweetness from the nose made its first appearance towards the end alongside some biscuit malts.
Palate (4/5): Quite a smooth beer with a medium body and strong carbonation levels. There was some nice floral bitterness running through the beer and the tropical fruits, along with the caramel, added a nice sweetness to proceedings. The beer was well-balanced and fresh making it an easy one to drink; excellent stuff.

Overall (16/20): A really nice American IPA with the tropical fruits and citrus flavours I’ve come to expect from the style as well as a nice caramel and biscuit base. There was a good combination of apricot, mango and peach coming through that were balanced against the sweet malts and the beer went down easily as a result. Good stuff from Boulevard, hopefully I can find some more of their beers in the UK this year.

Brewed In: Kansas City, Missouri, United States of America
Brewery: Boulevard Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2008
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.7%
Serving: Bottle (355ml)
Purchased: Beer52.co.uk
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

