Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Harbour Antipodean IPA

Harbour Antipodean IPA

Rating: 3.55

My second Harbour beer in recent weeks and this time I’ve decided to go for their Antipodean IPA which I’m expecting to be a slightly stronger (and hopefully better) version of their Session IPA that I tried recently. This one is another that I picked up in Morrisons supermarket on a recent visit and I believe it is the only other Harbour brewery beer that they stock. I wasn’t much of a fan of their session IPA offering when I tried it and that was almost enough to put me off picking this one up but I’m all about giving second chance, so hopefully I won’t be let down again. First introduced in 2015, the beer shouldn’t be confused with the brewery’s regular IPA but if this one proves to be a worthy offering then that’s certainly one that I’ll do my best to track down and give a try at some point in future; I guess we will see if that’s the case or not now though.

Harbour Antipodean IPA

Appearance (4/5): Very clear bodied and a lot lighter than I’d anticipated, the beer sitting a light amber to golden colour in the glass with a few bubbles rising to the surface but otherwise looking quite still in the glass. There is a half centimetre head that is a foamy, white one that manages to hold well over the opening couple minutes without breaking up too much at all.
Aroma (6/10): Quite a light beer on the nose and it comes through more like an IPA/lager-hybrid offering that an out-and-out American style IPA that I’d been expecting; it actually reminded me of Caesar Augustus from Williams Brothers in the early going. There was some grassy notes and fresh citrus notes to open things up before some touches of pine and even a little coriander started to make an appearance. I could detect some lager malts and a few touches of bread with the odd hop showing too but it definitely seemed to be the citrus that dominated with this one.
Taste (7/10): Thankfully the taste of this one was a lot more hoppy and bitter than the nose was hinting at and I enjoyed it a lot more as a result. There was some nice pine and citrus flavours that kicked things off, the later being slightly more balanced than with the nose too. There was some grassy hops showing and a little hay with some lemon zest and juicy hops coming through towards the end.
Palate (4/5): Very hoppy with a lot of bitterness showing throughout this one and quite a strong but pleasant tang from the citrus as well. There was some fresh and lively touches and the beer had a medium body but if I’m honest, it did seem a little basic and one-dimensional at times before a lingering bitter finish seen things out.

Overall (13/20): Quite a nice offering from Harbour and definitely better than their session IPA but it still wasn’t a great one either, especially after getting of to such a shaky start with the nose being far too light in that department. Overall the beer seemed to be more of a hybrid offering with hints of lager throughout but it was still a drinkable beer. Things did improve a little with the taste too and there was plenty of bitterness dotted about the place but again it was a fairly basic offering overall with the citrus seeming to dominate more than most would like.

Brewed In: Bodmin, Cornwall, England
Brewery: Harbour Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2015
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.5%
Serving: Can (330ml)
Purchased: Morrisons (Glasgow)
Price: £1.50

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

