Home > English Ale, Pale Ale > Quantum Magnum P.A.

Quantum Magnum P.A.

Rating: 2.85

The first of four beers that I picked up at the Beermoth bottle shop in Manchester on my recent visit to the city now, this one being a relatively local beer to the city having been brewed in the Stockport area. I picked the bottle up from the shops somewhat limited selection of local beers just before leaving the city and it’s not from a brewery that I’ve ever heard of; usually a good indication that the beer isn’t distributed north of the border and reason enough for me to pick it up. Founded in 2011 and located not far from the much larger Robinson’s brewery, Quantum brew bottles, cask and keg offerings for the local market and from what I can tell, this Magnum P.A. offering is one of their rotating beers and one that I can’t wait to crack open and try now.

Quantum Magnum P.A.

Appearance (3/5): This beer pours quite a cloudy, golden amber colour in the glass and is topped with quite a disappointingly thin, white lacing that’s pretty patchy as it sits atop the beer; not a great start sadly.
Aroma (6/10): The nose kicks off with a semi-funky aroma that wasn’t too far off a saison if I’m honest and initially had me thinking the beer might be off. As it turns out, I don’t think it was and this aroma was followed up by some subdued citrus hops and a couple of background fruits with the odd tropical tinge coming through. Definitely a lighter nose than I’d expected but there was some faint sweetness and very light touches of caramel in there alongside some strawberries that I hadn’t been expecting but the beer could definitely have been stronger on the nose.
Taste (6/10): The taste kicks off much like the nose with some subdued citrus hops but this time there is also a touch of pine and very light grapefruit showing too, it could definitely have been more bitter though. There was a few sweet fruits with the odd berry flavour coming through around the middle before some biscuit malts and touches of bread seen things out.
Palate (2/5): Quite a flat and underwhelming beer if I’m honest, I was expecting a bit more in the way of flavour and carbonation really and without either the beer seemed quite bland and boring. There was the odd touch of sweetness showing towards the end of the taste but it was too little, too late and the body was a little thin too; poor stuff in truth.

Overall (13/20): This one has turned out to be my second disappointing beer in a row sadly, mainly due to the bland taste and poor palate that resulted in the beer coming through as boring and flat with little in the flavour to turn things round any. There was some subtle citrus flavours in the early going with touches of pine too but it wasn’t nearly enough to make me want to try this one again; if the date on the bottle didn’t tell me otherwise, I would probably have thought this one was past its best and one to be tried when its fresher but as it stands it’s just another poor beer I’m afraid.

Brewed In: Stockport, Greater Manchester, England
Brewery: Quantum Brewing
First Brewed: 2016
Type: English Pale Ale
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Beermoth (Manchester)
Price: £2.40

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 6, 2016 at 08:12

Leave a Reply

