Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Arbor Shangri-La

Arbor Shangri-La

Rating: 3.7

A first local beer from my recent trip to the south of England now, this one being a Bristol brewed beer from Arbor Ales that I managed to try whilst in the city over the weekend. The beer is my first from the brewery but it is a brewery that I had at least heard of prior to my visit and for that reason I decided to try it first when I visited the King Street Brew House in the city. The beer is a new one from the brewery and was only introduced a couple of months ago, sometime around March this year and judging by some online reviews it does appear to have made it up to Scotland but it’s not one that I’ve noticed in any of my local shops as yet. Going in, I was hopefully this would be a good one and I was expecting a nice burst of tropical fruits and bitter hops but I’d take anything as long as it was a good beer; here’s what I thought of it in the end.

Arbor Shangri-La

Appearance (4/5): This one sits with quite a hazy body in the glass and is a medium amber with some yellow tinges coming through. There is a foamy white head on top that is fairly thin looking but manages to cover the surface of the beer at least and leaves some touches of lacing on the sides of the glass to.
Aroma (7/10): Peach and mango notes open this one up before some touches of grapefruit and pine start to come through but everything seemed very slightly subdued in the early going if I’m honest. There was some fresh hops and grassy notes around the middle that gave the beer a lively nose with some citrus aromas in there too. It was a pleasant enough smelling beer but it could have benefited from being a touch stronger in the early going.
Taste (7/10): Opening up as quite a bitter-tasting beer, this one start with some pine and grapefruit flavours that come through a little stronger than they did with the nose but still fall short of overpowering. There was some decent grassy flavours and a hint of sweetness not far behind, with a little peach, apricot and mango featuring alongside some citrus flavours. There was some faint herbal touches towards the end but I expected to see a few more malts showing as well but these were quite hard to detect beyond the odd bit of sweetness showing.
Palate (4/5): Medium bodied and quite a fresh beer, this one was definitely a bitter offering but it came through with a well-carbonated body and a good balance as well. There was some touches of citrus tang coming through and the beer was an easy one to drink, with the finish a lingering bitter one too.

Overall (14/20): My first Arbor beer and one that I was quietly looking forward to going in but one that didn’t get off to the best of starts sadly. Although it wasn’t too bad an opening for the beer, the hops and tropical flavours that I had been looking forward to seem quite subdued and light in areas without coming through entirely weak. There was some grassy flavours and a few burst of citrus as well but I had been expecting some more sweetness than was forthcoming and there didn’t seem to be any sign of the malts. It was still a pleasant enough beer and one that was easy to drink but I couldn’t help thinking that it could have been a lot better than it was.

Brewed In: Bristol, England
Brewery: Arbor Ales
First Brewed: 2016
Type: American IPA
Abv: 4.2%
Serving: Draught (Pint)
Purchased: King Street Brew House, Bristol, England
Price: £5.20

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

