Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Abita Wrought Iron IPA

Abita Wrought Iron IPA

Rating: 3.95

My first Abita beer now and what will technically be my second ever beer from Louisiana but is really more like my first given the Dixie Beer that I tried way back in 2012 was originally from the state but the bottle I tried had been brewed under license in the EU. This one is a late 2014 release from Abita Brewing and like the last beer I reviewed here, SweetWater’s Goin’ Costal, this is another that I was given as a gift from a relative returning from the states over the summer. Although I’ll not be counting this one as a new state, I am pleased to finally be trying a beer that was actually brewed within Louisiana state limits and I fully expect it to be better than that last ‘Louisiana beer’ I reviewed year a good few years ago now. Anyway here it is, my review of my first of three beers from Abita that I’ll be reviewing over the coming weeks and hopefully it’s a good one.

abita-wrought-iron-ipa

Appearance (4/5): A light, copper amber colour that is cloudy bodied and thick looking. The beer is topped with a thin, foamy white head that’s more lacing than anything else and looks quite patchy sitting on top of the beer after settling down. There is slightly more build up round the edges of the glass though and it falls short of disappearing completely which is nice.
Aroma (8/10): Upon opening the bottle this one was quite a bit sweeter than I’d been expecting, there was a lot of caramel malts and sweet bread coming through alongside touches of earthy malts. The hops that I’d expected going in were present soon after though and I manged to detect some nice tropical fruits and touches of pine alongside the toasted notes. The balance of the beer seemed to be a good one, initially at least anyway, and some citrus and floral notes rounded things off nicely.
Taste (7/10): Continuing on from were the nose left off, this one was a very sweet tasting beer that had a lot more caramel and bread malts than I’d expected but with the taste the pine hops and touches of tropical fruit seemed slightly more pronounced as well. It still wasn’t an all out hop bomb but there was some nice touches of orange and mango coming through alongside a few toasted malts to help the flavours balance out nicely.
Palate (4/5): Smooth and particularly well-balanced, as I’ve mentioned it was also a lot sweeter than expected too with plenty caramel malts complimenting the tropical fruits nicely and actually coming out stronger than them for the most part too. There was light-medium carbonation and the finish was wetter than expected too but overall this was a beer that definitely impressed me.

Overall (17/20): An excellent introduction to Louisianan brewed beer, this one was a really sweet styled American IPA but it also managed to come through with some decent tropical fruits and touches of pine hop as well. Despite the name, it definitely seemed more like an American pale ale at times but the balance remained pretty good throughout and it was quite an easy beer to drink. The finish was quite a wet one too and that seemed to keep me going back for more; nice stuff all round and one I’d have again.

Brewed In: Abita Springs, Louisiana, United States of America
Brewery: Abita Brewing Company
First Brewed: 2014
Type: American IPA
Abv: 6.9%
Serving: Bottle (355ml)
Purchased: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Price: Gift

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 29, 2016 at 08:36
  2. November 4, 2016 at 08:07

Leave a Reply

