Home > American IPA, India Pale Ale > Bo Bristle IPA

Bo Bristle IPA

Rating: 3.1

One of the last few remaining Irish beers that I managed to pick up while travelling around the country during the summer there, this one being a bottle that I stumbled across in a SuperValu store in Ennistown, County Clare. The beer is one of the many beers I’d noted the name of prior to visiting the country again and although I’m not 100% sure, I think it might also be my first beer from County Offaly as well. This one will be the 49th Irish beer that I’ll have reviewed here and given how much I visit the country, it’s hardly surprising that it’s now sitting sixth in my beers by country list; so let’s find out how this one compares to the rest from the country.

bo-bristle

Appearance (3/5): Quite a lively looking beer as I poured it and it soon developed a fairly large, inch and a half head that was a foamy white but receded quickly to settle around a centimetre tall. The body of the beer was very clear looking and surprisingly still once the head had settled, sitting a light amber to copper colour. there was a touch more build up of lacing round the circumference of the beer but only slightly more than to be found at the centre and the beer was definitely darker and clearer looking than I’d expected.
Aroma (6/10): Not quite what I was expecting on the nose when I opened this one, the beer was surprisingly unlike an IPA with it actually seeming more like a lager or pilsner at times. There was some corn and bread malts alongside a touch of sweetness and only around the middle did some lighter hops start to make themselves known. It definitely wasn’t a hoppy offering and the tropical fruits I’d expected going in were sadly missing. There was some touches of citrus sneaking through though and I managed to detect caramel but beyond that it was quite a light beer on the nose I’m afraid.
Taste (6/10): Continuing from where the nose left off, this one was again quite a light beer with too few hops and not enough bitterness coming through for it to be a true American IPA. There was more sweetness this time round at least and the caramel also seemed more pronounced but the bread malts and the corn from the nose were present too and ended up dominating down the stretch of the beer. There was the odd citrus flavour and a faint touch of fruit in there too but it almost seemed like a pale ale/lager hybrid offering at times and wasn’t quite what I had in mind when I picked it up.
Palate (3/5): Medium bodied and quite a smooth beer on the palate, it wasn’t as crisp as I’d anticipated after seeing the active carbonation when opening the bottle but it wasn’t exactly flat either. There was some caramel sweetness at times, particularly nearer the end and I got a little bitterness around then too, plus the balance wasn’t too bad either but I was definitely expecting more of tropical fruit bitterness and a nice citrus tang if I’m honest and sadly the palate didn’t quite live up to that.

Overall (14/20): When I was buying this one, and indeed when opening it, I was expecting quite a tropical beer with plenty of hop bitterness and a nice variety of fruit coming through but in the end it was much more like an English style IPA than an American one, evening seeming a touch bland at times. Going into this one with no expectations you’d likely come away thinking it was a fairly okay beer and one that went down easy enough but I was expecting something a lot more from it and as a result it’s not likely to be one I’d pick up again sadly.

Brewed In: Banagher, County Offaly, Ireland
Brewery: Bo Bristle Brewing Company
First Brewed: circa. 2012
Type: American IPA
Abv: 5.0%
Serving: Bottle (500ml)
Purchased: SuperValu (Ennistown)
Price: €3.59 (£3.08 approx.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 21, 2016 at 08:09

Leave a Reply

