Home > Sahti > Pinta Koniec Świata

Pinta Koniec Świata

Rating: 3.5

A rarity here in that this will be my first review of a completely new style of beer to me, this one will be my first ever sahti which, as you’ve probably guessed, is not a style that I know very much about. The beer is another from Poland’s Pinta brewery that follows on from the A Ja Pale Ale and one that I managed to try in the Kufle i Kapsle craft beer bar in Warsaw when I visited last month, I was immediately drawn to this one since I knew I hadn’t tried the style before. Traditionally a Finish style of beer that was predominantly flavoured with juniper berries in the past, either in addition to or instead of using hops. Another milestone with the beer is that it takes me within two styles of trying every one that is listed on the RateBeer website, I now only need to try both a Faro and an Unblended style Lambic to complete the list and hopefully that is something I’ll be able to do sooner rather than later. This one is an especially good beer to check off since none of this style ever seems to make it to the UK, it is definitely more of a northern European type of beer. This particular offering from Pinta was also quite a good introduction to style as it is listed on RateBeer as the 26th best sahti, although it’s not as if it has tonnes of competition to appear on the list.

Appearance (4/5): A bright amber coloured beer that has a few darker tinges and is opaque in body. There was a bubbly white head on top that sat about half a centimetre tall and managed to hold on well.
Aroma (6/10): Quite a tarty/funky beer on the nose with some sour fruits showing as well, there was a bit of wheat following on behind too. The beer was more fresh than I’d expected and although it was my first ever sahti and I didn’t know what to expect, this one was quite a nice beer on the nose. There was some subtle malts and a faint sweetness nearer the end that made for an interesting start to the beer.
Taste (6/10): Slightly more subtle than with the nose, the taste kicks off with some early sweetness and a few touches of cherry that was surprising since the nose gave no indication of this. There was some tart and a few sweet malts nearer the middle, I detected some banana with faint cloves and yeast as well before some bread and faint spice seen things out.
Palate (4/5): An oily but quite a smooth beer, this one was light-medium bodied and came through with a fair amount of sweetness too, particularly with the nose. Carbonation levels were soft with the beer and it felt quite dry as it got nearer to the end, a slight tang featuring at this point too. Definitely an interesting offering with a lingering aftertaste and some hints of bitterness showing too.

Overall (14/20): This was an interesting first sahti for me, the beer opened with a lot of sweetness and some nice malts but there was also hints of tart that I’d not expected but that were fairly enjoyable. There was hints of a wheat beer at times thanks to the banana and cloves that featured, particularly with the nose and I thought it was a relatively easy beer to drink. It had a nice balance and was pleasant enough but I’m not sure I’d put it up there with my favourite styles of beer just yet, it was at least another style tick and one that I’m glad to have found since I’ve never seen one available in the UK so far.

Brewed In: Żywiec, Poland
Brewery: Browar Pinta
First Brewed: circa. 2012
Type: Sahti
Abv: 7.9%
Serving: Keg (300ml)
Purchased: Kufle i Kapsle, Warsaw, Poland
Price: 11PLN (approx. £2.20)

Categories: Sahti Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

