Home > Berliner Weisse, Wheat Beer > Berliner Kindl Weisse Waldmeister

Berliner Kindl Weisse Waldmeister

Rating: 2.1

A third review of a beer from the Berliner Kindl Schultheiss brewery for me now and not entirely a new one, this is actually a beer that I managed to try about three years ago when I first visited Berlin but at the time it was one that I had straight from the bottle and never properly reviewed. I recently managed to try another bottle when visiting Berlin last month though and this time I had it back at the hotel to fully appreciate it rather than just swigging from the bottle as I walked about the city. It’s not exactly a classic beer but it feels right drinking it in Berlin and it’s not one available back home so I ended up having a couple of these over the Easter weekend I was in the city. The beer follows on from the bottles of Berliner Pilsner and Berliner Kindl Weisse from the brewery that I tried three and four years ago respectively as my third from the brewery, I did also manage to try the red Himbeere version of this beer too but it’s not one that I properly reviewed again sadly so a post for that one will likely have to wait until my next visit to Germany.

Appearance (2/5): Quite a ridiculous looking lime green colour that doesn’t look like a beer at all, this one was semi-clear with a thin white head on top that was about half a centimetre tall and bubbly to being before fading to a patchy lacing soon after.
Aroma (4/10): Quite sweet on the nose as I’d expected,this one also had quite an artificial nose to it with a lot of apple and some lime with touches of citrus sitting in the background. There was a lot of sugars in there as well but beyond that and the apple there wasn’t a whole lot to say about the beer really; it was more juice and syrup than beer really.
Taste (4/10): Sweet and very syrupy, this one was a very artificial tasting beer that was dominated by apple flavours but also had some lime coming through as well. There was a lot of sugar coming through from the start as well but that and some faint citrus was about all there was to this one; it didn’t even seem like the usual radler taste that I’d been expecting and seemed to have a very fruit juice like taste at times, along with being far too sweet into the bargain.
Palate (2/5): Light bodied and ridiculously sweet, this one was a dry but not very well balanced beer that seemed artificial and fake at times. There was a slight tang from the citrus coming through around the middle and it was moderately carbonated but it didn’t seem much like a beer to me.

Overall (10/20): This is a strange beer and despite being one I’d tried previously, I was still surprised by just how sweet and sugary it was which is something that was seemingly masked by the fact that usually I would drink this one straight from the bottle. The beer was overly sweet and came through as more like a fruit juice at times, there was some lime and citrus in there but the apples definitely dominated from the start and it wasn’t the most well balanced beer either. It was drinkable and I wouldn’t say it’s a beer that I’d never have again since it is so readily available in Berlin but it is definitely not one to look out for.

Brewed In: Berlin, Germany
Brewery:  Berliner Kindl Schultheiss Brauerei
First Brewed: circa. 2000
Full Name: Berliner Kindl Weisse Mit Schuß Waldmeister
Type: Berliner Weisse
Abv: 3.0%
Serving: Bottle (330ml)
Purchased: Alexanderplatz, Berlin, Germany
Price: €1.50 (£1.30 approx.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

