Home > India Pale Ale, Session IPA > Brooklyn Scorcher IPA

Brooklyn Scorcher IPA

Rating: 3.15

Beer number twelve from Brooklyn for me now and only my first new offering from them since I was somewhat disappointed by their Blast! double IPA when I tried it back in February 2015; I’m amazed it has been so long between trying a new one of their beers for me. This one is a beer that I noticed my local Morrison’s supermarket has started stocking recently and since it was an American brewery IPA from a fairly well known brewery it was an easy decision to pick up a bottle and try it at home. The beer is not one I recognised from the brewery before grabbing it but I was pleased to see more of their beers making it to supermarkets of late and I’m hoping this turns out to be a good one from the brewery. Marketed as a session IPA since it comes in at 4.5%, I’m also hoping the beer proves a little better than some of the disappointing session IPA’s I’ve reviewed over the years and this will be my first of the style from Brooklyn so I’d like to think they’ve learnt from other brewery’s mistakes but I guess there is only one way to find out.

Appearance (3/5): Quite a light, almost watered down looking amber colour with a white, bubbly head that lasts just under a minute before fading to quite a patchy lacing dotted about the surface of the beer. The body is incredibly clear with this one and it looks quite still too.
Aroma (6/10): Slightly lighter on the nose than expected and there wasn’t as many hops either, this one opened with some subtle citrus notes and touches of floral hops. The beer came through with some oranges nearer the middle with touches of bread and faint caramel following on behind. There is a nice balance to the nose with touches of hay and grassy hops in there as well but it definitely wasn’t as strong as I’d been expecting.
Taste (7/10): Opening with quite a floral taste that comes through with quite a few hops, there is touches of citrus and hints of perfume in the early going as well. The beer was somewhat stronger than the nose without being overly so, I got touches of spice nearer the middle before some bread malts and the odd bit of sweetness too.
Palate (3/5): Medium bodied and quite crisp, the beer has a few floral touches with the citrus adding a subtle tang to proceedings nearer the middle. It was fairly well-balanced that made the beer relatively easy to drink with the odd touches of sweetness nearer the end. Overall it’s quite a dry and oily beer with some nice bitterness at the end but there wasn’t as much as I’d expected really.

Overall (13/20): Quite a fresh and crisp beer but one that was a little lighter than expected and with less hops too, there was some towards the end of proceedings but there wasn’t many showing before that. The taste mainly consisted of some pleasant citrus and floral flavours that were well-balanced but nothing overly special in truth; touches of bread and light sweetness featured too towards the end. It’s probably not a beer that I’d go back to given it’s quite an ordinary session IPA but it’s always worth picking up a new beer, just don’t go out of your way to pick this one up I guess.

Brewed In: Brooklyn, New York, United States of America
Brewery: Brooklyn Brewery
First Brewed: 2015
Type: Session IPA
Abv: 4.5%
Serving: Bottle (355ml)
Purchased: Morrisons (Glasgow)
Price: £1.75

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

